Product Review: Burt’s Bees Paw and Nose Lotion

Burts Bees Dog

Burt’s Bees Paw and Nose Lotion is a product made to keep your puppy’s leathery paw pads soft. This lotion is specially made for dogs with rosemary and olive oil. It is specially pH balanced for dogs and made “cruelty free”. Try it out on your dog if he has scratchy paws like mine!

Rating: 2.5/5 Paws

Now that it’s the Winter time, it’s the perfect time to review this lotion. Mako has always had scratchy paws whether it was from running on hot pavement or being chapped from the cold. We bought this lotion for him since we thought it would be more comfortable for him and for us. It’s not fun when he paws your face with his crusty paws. This lotion is pretty thin, so a little goes a long way. I think the bottle recommends using a dime to quarter sized dollop. It’s just a lotion, so I’m sure it’s not a big deal if you use too much.

Hopefully your dog is more tolerant than my little prince. He’s very particular about people touching his paws. Normally he allows me to hold his paw or touch his nose, but once he sees this bottle come out, he starts backing away. I think he has a problem with how strange the lotion feels on his paw. After I put the lotion on him, he almost immediately starts licking it off. Not sure how effective the lotion is by then…

Bottom line: This product is great for what it’s supposed to do. I always feel like Mako’s paws are just slightly softer than before. BUT, my spoiled puppy hates the feeling of this lotion on his paws. It makes it so difficult to apply the lotion to his paw pads or his nose. I might like this product better if it was some sort of balm it might be easier to use.

Mako snow angel

Mako’s Review: 1/5 Paws

I hate it! I hate it! I hate it! The humans always tell me it’s good for me and it’ll make my paws feel better. I guess it’s not as scratchy as before… and it’s not the worst smelling thing ever. But it just feels so slimy and cold that I don’t like it. I always lick it off my front paws when the human isn’t looking. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t know about it ’cause I’m a ninja! I can tolerate it after it dries, but it just feels weird when she first puts it on me. …I don’t like that stuff!

Leave a comment