Rocket Raccoon Costume

Mako Rocket

 

For Halloween this year, I wanted Mako to get dressed up. Unfortunately, all the costumes I could buy from the pet stores were either too big or too small for my fluffy Mako. He’s so small under all that fur, but he ends up looking like he’s busting out of his shirt since his fur adds so much volume. So, since I know my way around patterns and a sewing machine, I decided to make him a custom costume. And since Mako always looked so much like a raccoon, I thought Rocket Raccoon was perfect for him! Not to mention I’m a nerd and love comic books. I didn’t want to go with the original Rocket outfit, but the one in Guardians of the Galaxy.

rocket raccoon

For Mako, I only made the top part of the outfit. He doesn’t need pants! It took a few hours to make the costume and I’m sure I could have done better, but it’s a costume that will probably only be worn once or twice… But I think it turned out alright!


mako rocket costume   mako rocket side

The costume looks convincing, but my base pattern still needs some tweeking for sure. But look at how cute he is! He even comes with his own Groot!

Mako Groot

What was your pup for Halloween? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment